All ESPN ESPY Awards winners

The ESPY Awards 2021, ESPN’s annual celebration of all things sports, returned on Saturday with an in-person show in New York City following the virtual presentation of 2020.

This year’s ESPYS, which was hosted by Anthony Mackie, also featured the return of individual and team awards after these categories were scuttled in 2020 with so many seasons on hiatus or outright canceled due to the coronavirus.

And ESPYS 2021 went to:

Best athlete, women’s sport: Naomi Osaka, 2021 Australian Open champion

Best Athlete, Men’s Sports: Tom Brady, who led the Tampa Bay Buccaneers to Super Bowl 55

Best record performance: Russell Westbrook, who broke Oscar Robertson’s NBA record for career triple doubles

Best Breakthrough Athlete: LaMelo Ball, Charlotte Hornets guard and NBA Rookie of the Year

Jimmy V Prize for Perseverance: Chris Nikic

A look at the 2021 ESPY Awards winners.

Best game: UCLA v Gonzaga in Men’s Final Four, won by Bulldogs over Jalen Suggs buzzer-beater in overtime

Best game: The “Hail Murray”, Arizona Cardinals’ Hail Mary QB Kyler Murray switches to DeAndre Hopkins to beat the Buffalo Bills last season

Best performance in the championship: Simone Biles, Olympic gymnastics champion

Best WWE Moment: Sasha Banks and Bianca Belair to headline WrestleMania, the first black women to do so

Best College Athlete, Men’s Sports: DeVonta Smith, Alabama wide receiver, Heisman Trophy winner

Best varsity athlete, women’s sport: Paige Bueckers, star rookie of UConn’s women’s basketball team

Pat Tillman Award for Service: Marcus Rashford, English football star who plays for Manchester United

Best coach: Stanford women’s basketball coach Tara VanDerveer who topped Pat Summitt on the winning list and led Cardinal to the 2021 national title

Best NBA Player: Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors

Best WNBA Player: Seattle Storm Breanna Stewart

Best international athlete, women’s football: Samantha mewis

Best international athlete, men’s football: Cristiano Ronaldo

Best pilot: Lewis Hamilton, F1 driver

Arthur Ashe Prize for Courage: Maya moore

Source link

About Frank Torres


Check Also

What we can all be thankful for this Thanksgiving

Through Martin rogersFOX Sports Columnist This is a Thanksgiving column and it’s shorter than the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *