Cody makes four changes to Kilkenny squad for latest Leinster-Galway clash

BRIAN CODY Made four changes to the Kilkenny side who fell to Wexford in Leinster’s Championship round robin as they prepare to face Galway at Croke Park on Saturday.

The Cats go three straight Saturday night and Cody named Huw Lawlor fullback, with Conor Fogarty, Billy Ryan and Richie Leahy also named to start.

Conor Delaney, Alan Murphy, Walter Walsh and Tom Phelan make way.

Henry Shefflin named the same team that started their 0-27 0-21 win over Dublin at Pearse Stadium.

Donal O’Shea is part of the team of the day. The son of former Tipperary manager Eamon, he was crowned minor bowler of the year in 2018 after leading the Tribesmen to All-Ireland glory and was a star of the Galway U20 attack in both recent seasons.

The throw-in at Croke Park is at 7 p.m.


1. Eanna Murphy (Tommy Larkins)

2. Jack Grealish (Gort), 3. Daithí Burke (Turloughmore), 4. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields)

5. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh Fohenagh), 6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore Maree), 7. Fintan Burke (St Thomas’),

8. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields) 9. David Burke (St Thomas’),

10. Tom Monaghan (Craughwell), 11. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’), 12. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh Fohenagh),

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara), 14. Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan), 15. Brian Concannon (Kilmordaly)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a member


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels), 3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), 4. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan),

5. Michael Carey (Young Irelands), 6. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks – captain), 6. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels),

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own), 9. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

10. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan), 11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 12. Richie Leahy (Rower Institute)

13. Cian Kenny (James Stephens), 14. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), 15. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

About Frank Torres

Check Also

Prasad won’t reveal his name despite promising to do so – FBC News

FijiFirst Secretary General Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum (left to right), NFP leader Biman Prasad. Just over two …