Ireland name Indian T20I squad, Andrew Balbirnie as captain

The Ireland Cricket Board on Wednesday announced a 14-man squad for the two-game T20I series against India, which is due to start on June 26 in Malahide. The squad named for the T20I two-game series against India includes call-ups for two members of the North West Warriors squad – top-notch hitter Stephen Doheny and pace thrower Conor Olphert. Both players were recently awarded tenure contracts from Cricket Ireland.

The first game of the two-game T20I series will be played on June 26 at Malahide, while the second and final game will be played on June 28.

Both Doheny and Olphert have made it to the team through stunning campaigns in the ongoing T20 Interprovincial Trophy. While Doheny, a top hitter, tallied 158 runs at an average of 52.67, Olphert pocketed six wickets at 19.17 apiece.

Andrew Balbirnie will lead the Men in Green which includes other well-known names such as Paul Stirling, George Dockrell, Mark Adair and Andy McBrine. While Stirling, Balbirnie and Harry Tector will lead the batting department, Joshua Little, Craig Young and Adair will headline the bowling offense.

Andrew White, Chairman of the National Men’s Coaches, said: “There are no better challenges for a new national coach than to start your tenure against the world’s number one ranked T20I team, India. Heinrich [Malan] has worked hard since arriving in Ireland, criss-crossing the island, getting to know the players and learning about the growing depth of talent we have here – and it is this growing depth of talent that has made the selection process difficult for the first matches of the men’s season at home.”

“The T20I squad features a familiar core team, but it’s nice to see a number of new faces earning their call in Stephen Doheny and Conor Olphert. Both Warriors players have impressed at the interprovincial level this season with a consistent performances, while Doheny has also come off a good tour of Namibia with Ireland Wolves.Olphert has played fast, particularly from good wickets at Comber last month, and his selection gives us the opportunity to regard him as a tactical option given what lies ahead for the rest of the year,” he added.

White said many players would probably consider themselves unlucky not to be on these teams “but runs and wickets are the currency we seek and the selectors believe we have chosen teams that recognize and reward form and consistent performance on the pitch”.


India made their last tour of Ireland in 2018 for a two-game T20I series and lifted the trophy 2-0. Currently, the Indian team is playing the five-game T20I series at home to South Africa, where Proteas are leading 2-1.

Ireland Men’s T20I Team: Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker and Craig Young.

Topics discussed in this article

About Frank Torres

Check Also

India now has eight cheetahs, but how many can you name?

Bhopal: Seven decades after its local extinction, India reintroduced eight cheetahs to its wilds on …