Jefferson to headline All-Sun Belt Postseason Awards

NEW ORLEANS, Louisiana – Highlighted by the Sun Belt Conference Women’s Outdoor Track Performer in Melissa Jeffersona total of 17 Chanticleers have been nominated for postseason All-Sun Belt honors, as announced by the conference office Wednesday afternoon.

The 17 all-conference selections surpass the previous record of 15 winners from the 2017 season.

Jefferson repeated as SBC’s Most Outstanding Female Performer and earned a First Team All-Sun Belt berth after earning a trio of historic wins on the final day of the Sun Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Belt 2022 last weekend. The Georgetown, South Carolina native broke three conference and meet records — all of which came in the 100-meter, 200-meter, and 4×100-meter relay events — as well as two setup benchmarks and a record of program.

She won the 100 meters in 10.88 seconds, the 200 meters in 22.46 and the 4×100 alongside Kayla Sweeney, Shani’a Bellamyand Jermaisha Arnold in 43.79 seconds.

Mekenze Kelley and Alexis Glasco were also named to the All-Sun Belt First Team after strong performances at the 2022 Sun Belt Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Glasco, Kelley and Sydney Clemens spearheaded a podium sweep in the 100-meter hurdles, with Glasco claiming first place and setting a new installation record at 1:15 p.m. Kelley won the 400-meter event with a time of 51.98 seconds, which is a new personal best, as well as a new installation, meet and CCU record.

Arnold, Bellamy and Sweeney, as well as Amelie Canetto and Lauren Gordon also earned first-team honors for their wins in their respective relay events (Arnold/Bellamy/Sweeney – 4×100; Canetto and Gordon – 4×400).

Molly JonesClement and Nikki Boon were also named to the All-Sun Belt Third Team after each finished in the top three last weekend. Jones placed third in the 5,000 meters with a time of 17:53.98, while Clemens was third in the 100 meters hurdles with a new personal best of 13.72 seconds. Boon set a new program record in the heptathlon by compiling 5,061 points and winning a bronze medal at the 2022 Sun Belt Outdoor Track & Field Championships.

On the men’s side, six Songs won honors from all conferences. Tyler Graves was named to the second team after collecting two silver medals in the hurdles events of 110 meters (13.79) and 400 meters (personal best time of 50.50). Reggie Barlow, DeVonte Harris, Ty Floyd, Garett Wilkinsand Jeremiah Talbert earned third-team All-Sun Belt honors after posting two top-three finishes over the weekend. The team of Barlow, Harris, Floyd and Wilkins placed third in the 4×100-meter relay with a time of 40.21, which is both the best time of the season and the third fastest time in CCU history. . Floyd, Talbert, Wilkins and Graves also earned a spot on the podium with their third place finish in the 4×400 meter relay with their time of 3:09.90.

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Post-Season Awards

Most Outstanding Track Performer – Melissa JeffersonCoastal Carolina

Most Outstanding Field Performer – Alyssa Wilson, Texas State
Newcomer of the Year – Alyssa Wilson, Texas State
Freshman of the Year – Eunice Ilunga Mbuyi, ULM
Coach of the Year – Jim Patchell, Arkansas State


Most Outstanding Track Performer – Cameron Jackson, Little Rock
Most Outstanding Field Performer – Arthur Petersen, UTA
Newcomer of the Year – Dominick Yancy, Texas State
Freshman of the Year – Jackson Cichon, UTA
Coach of the Year – Paul Brueske, Southern Alabama

First Team All-Sun Belt
Melissa Jefferson (Coastal Carolina)
Mekenze Kelley (Coastal Carolina)

Edita Sklenska (Troy)
Madeleine Rowe (UTA)
Sophie Leathers (Arkansas State)
Sophie Daigle (Louisiana)
Alexis Glasco (Coastal Carolina)

Shelby West (UTA)
Marine Garnier (State of Georgia)
Katherine Stuckly (State of Texas)
Lauren Beauchamp (Arkansas State)
Eunice Ilunga Mbuyi (ULM)
Alyssa Wilson (State of Texas)
Camryn Newton-Smith (Arkansas State)
Jade Bontke (UTA)
Jermaisha Arnold (Coastal Carolina)
Amelie Canetto (Coastal Carolina)
Lauren Gordon (Coastal Carolina)
Kayla Sweeney (Coastal Carolina)
Shani’a Bellamy (Coastal Carolina)

Second Team All-Sun Belt

Iyana Gray (UTA)
Cheyenne Melvin (State of Arkansas)
Macki Walsh (app status)
Elizabeth Martin (Arkansas State)
Avery Shell (State of Arkansas)
Taylor Smith (app status)
Jada branch (app status)
Colette Uys (Southern Alabama)
Evangelynn Harris (Arkansas State)
Hannah Blood (ULM)
Marin Barras (Louisiana)
Tatiana Terrell (UTA)
Vanessa Ugorji (UTA)
Anayah Washington (State of Texas)
Christine Irving (State of Texas)
Victoria Wright (State of Texas)
Sedrickia Wynn (State of Texas)

Third Team All-Sun Belt

Jonae Cook (Arkansas State)
Therese Thomas (Little Rock)
Lee-Anne Blake (State of Texas)
Molly Jones (Coastal Carolina)

Sarah Trammel (Arkansas State)
Sydney Clemens (Coastal Carolina)

Chelby Melvin (Arkansas State)
Karsyn Kane (app status)
Maja Kuessner (Troy)
Simona Cabella (UTA)
Taylor Davis (Louisiana)
Flowers of Grace (ASU)
Liv Cantby (UTA)
Nikki Boon (Coastal Carolina)

Chelsea Tate (State of Georgia)
Jaeda Hunt (State of Georgia)
Ashanti Tigner (State of Georgia)
Maleah Heard (State of Georgia)
Britney Roberson (ULM)
Jasmine Williams (ULM)
Kimone Campbell (ULM)
Fiebe Tengrootenhuysen (ULM)

First Team All-Sun Belt

Cameron Jackson (Little Rock)
Dominick Yancy (State of Texas)
Seth Waters (Arkansas State)
Bennett Pascoe (Arkansas State)
Kirami Yego (southern Alabama)
Yves Cherubin (Louisiana)
Lucas Van Klaveren (UT Arlington)
Johnathan Jones (Little Rock)
Kyle Rademeyer (Southern Alabama)
Carter Shell (State of Arkansas)
Christian Ellis (southern Alabama)
Sebastian Loschner (Southern Alabama)
Francois Prinsloo (Southern Alabama)
Aimar Palma Simo (State of Arkansas)
Arthur Petersen (UT Arlington)
Taahir Kelly (State of Texas)
Avery Veiseh (State of Texas)
Brian West (State of Texas)
Cogan Derousselle (Little Rock)
Taveion Neal (Little Rock)
Troy McKnightLittle Rock

Second Team All-Sun Belt

Keith Robinson (ULM)
Bervensky Pierre (State of Texas)
Caemon Scott (Louisiana)
Jackson Cichon (UTA)
Jacob Pyeatt (Arkansas State)
Teagan Flanagan (Southern Alabama)
Tyler Graves (Coastal Carolina)

Ryan Brown (app status)
Frank Massey (Arkansas State)
Bradley Jelmert (Arkansas State)
Ronnie Briscoe Jr. (State of Texas)
Marvin Walford (UTA)
Willem Coertzen (Arkansas State)
Javon Osbourne (Troy)
Cole Stewart (Troy)
Chandler Mixon (Louisiana)
Khalid Mendez (UTA)
Jarvis Miles (UTA)
Daniel Harrold (State of Texas)
Carlos Wilson (State of Texas)

Third Team All-Sun Belt

De’Shawn Ballard (app status)
Kashie Crockett (Louisiana)
Alan Johnson (Troy)
Giacomo Deluca (southern Alabama)
Joel Bengtsson (UTA)
Nathan Ferguesson (Louisiana)
Guest Calbert (app status)
Ali Eren Unlu (ULM)
Isaac Sadzewicz (State of Texas)
Eric Haddock Jr. (app status)
Rylan Theyard (Louisiana)
Jacob Fudge (ULM)
Josh Estes (Southern Alabama)
Simon Thor (State of Texas)
Reggie Barlow (Coastal Carolina)
DeVonte Harris (Coastal Carolina)
Ty Floyd (Coastal Carolina)
Garett Wilkins (Coastal Carolina)
Jeremiah Talbert (Coastal Carolina)

For complete CCU Cross Country and Track & Field coverage, follow the Chanticleers on social media at @CoastalTFXC (Twitter), @GoCCUsports (Instagram) and (Facebook), or visit the Official Home of Coastal Carolina Athletics at

About Frank Torres

Check Also

Chelsea set to appoint Red Bull Salzburg’s Christoph Freund as sporting director – Paper Talk | Transfer Center News

All the headline stories and transfer rumors from Monday’s national papers… THE GUARDIAN Chelsea agree …