Mancini names uncapped striker Raspadori in Italy’s Euro 2020 final squad

Soccer Football – UEFA Under-21 Championship – Group B – Italy v Slovenia – Stadion Ljudski vrt, Maribor, Slovenia – March 30, 2021 Italy’s Giacomo Raspadori celebrates his second goal REUTERS / Borut Zivulovic / File Photo

Roberto Mancini named Sassuolo unselected striker Giacomo Raspadori in his last 26-man Italian squad for Euro 2020 on Tuesday, but there was no room for AS Roma defender Gianluca Mancini, the midfielder. of Atalanta Matteo Pessina or Napoli winger Matteo Politano.

Raspadori will compete with Lazio’s Ciro Immobile and Turin’s Andrea Belotti for the striker position after a standout season in which the 21-year-old has scored six goals in 27 Serie A games.

Italy coach Mancini reduced his preliminary squad from 33 to 28 on Sunday, when Paris St Germain striker Moise Kean was the most visible victim.

Gianluca Mancini, Politano and Pessina were then left out of the final squad as Raspadori was recalled from the Under-21 setup.

Brazilian Atalanta defender Rafael Toloi, who made his Italy debut in March, was preferred over Mancini in defense, while Inter Milan midfielder Stefano Sensi was chosen despite concerns about his fitness after injuring his thigh on the last day of the season.

Juventus defender Giorgio Chiellini will be the team captain, one of the seven survivors of Euro 2016 along with Alessandro Florenzi, Immobile, Salvatore Sirigu, Leonardo Bonucci, Lorenzo Insigne and Federico Bernardeschi.

Italy face Turkey in the tournament opener at Rome’s Stadio Olimpico on June 11 before welcoming Switzerland and Wales to the Italian capital to complete their Group A fixtures.

Mancini’s side beat San Marino 7-0 in the first of two warm-up matches last week, the second coming against the Czech Republic in Bologna on Friday.

The Azzurri have made it through qualifying, winning all 10 games to dominate their group, and are currently undefeated in 26 games, a streak dating back to September 2018.

Euro 2020 will mark their return to major football tournaments five years after a race to the quarter-finals of Euro 2016, after failing to qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.


Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Turin)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea), Alessandro Florenzi (Paris St Germain), Leonardo Spinazzola ( Rome), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta)

Midfielder: Nicolo Barella (Inter), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea), Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Stefano Sensi (Inter), Marco Verratti (Paris St Germain)

Forwards: Andrea Belotti (Turin), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Ciro Immobile (Lazio), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Giacomo Raspadori (Sassuolo)

Our standards: Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.

About Frank Torres

Check Also

The Producer: Marc Brady is the biggest name in Chicago sports TV you don’t know

If you’re a long-time viewer of Chicago sports, you’ve undoubtedly – and probably unknowingly – …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.