NASCAR reveals format for All-Star race in Texas

Kyle Larson leads Kyle Busch and the rest of the NASCAR Cup Series in the first stop of the All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway in 2021.

NASCAR revealed the format for the May 22 NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race on Thursday.

The exhibition will take place, for the second consecutive year, at the Texas Motor Speedway.


  • The opening round is the traditional one-car, one-lap format in reverse order of current 2022 owner points.
  • The eight fastest qualifiers are transferred to a three-round knockout bracket.
  • The elimination bracket will feature two cars staged in adjacent pits near the end of pit road.
  • At the sound of an alert, each pit crew will make a four-tire stop and, when the jack drops, the drivers will exit their pits (with no speed limit) onto the track.
  • The first car to return to the start/finish line advances to the next lap.
  • The final pairing is competing for the pole.

Race format

The race will consist of four stages, with the first three rounds of 25 lengths and the fourth and final being a 50-lap shootout for the $1 million prize. The new format provided a major incentive to win one of the first three stages or the pit stop competition during the break between Stages 2 and 3.

Stage 1 (25 laps): The winner of stage 1 will start on pole in the final stage as long as they finish 15and or better at steps 2 and 3.

Stage 2 (25 laps): The winner of stage 2 starts second in the final stage as long as they finish 15and or better to step 3.

Special stage break (pit stop competition): Each team must stop and perform a four-tire stop. The team with the shortest pit road time (pit in/pit out) wins the pit crew award and the driver will start fourth in the final stage as long as they finish 15and or better to step 3.

Step 3 (25 laps): The winner of stage 3 starts third in the final stage.

Step 4 (50 laps): The winner of stage 1 starts first, the winner of stage 2 second, the winner of stage 3 third and the winner of the pit stop competition fourth. If a “natural” warning occurs between laps 15 and 25 of the final stage, standard race procedures will be in effect. If no “natural” warning occurs during this time, NASCAR will call an “All Star” competition warning. Stage 4 winner wins $1 million.

The NASCAR Open will immediately precede the NASCAR All-Star Race and will consist of three stages (20 laps / 20 laps / 10 laps). Each segment winner will advance to the NASCAR All-Star Race, as will the winner of the fan vote. Fans can vote for their favorite driver who didn’t qualify for the NASCAR All-Star Race by visiting for more details.

Drivers eligible for the NASCAR All-Star Race are:

  • Cup Series drivers who have earned a paid race victory in 2021 or 2022.
  • Past NASCAR All-Star Race winners competing full-time this season.
  • Former NASCAR Cup Series champions competing full-time this season.

Drivers who have currently clinched a starting spot (via Talladega) and are returning to the NASCAR All-Star Race include AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Christopher Bell, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Chase Briscoe, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, William Byron, Ross Chastain, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Michael McDowell, Martin Truex Jr. and Bubba Wallace.

Cup Series rookie Austin Cindric qualified for his first NASCAR All-Star Race appearance by winning the Daytona 500 in February

About Frank Torres

Check Also

Chelsea set to appoint Red Bull Salzburg’s Christoph Freund as sporting director – Paper Talk | Transfer Center News

All the headline stories and transfer rumors from Monday’s national papers… THE GUARDIAN Chelsea agree …