Tewksbury chooses name for new elementary school – Lowell Sun

TEWKSBURY – The Center Primary School is the city’s newest primary education center.

The name was chosen in honor of the city’s former central school on the same site, which will be demolished to make way for parking as part of the new construction project.

“I’m a great guy in history,” said school committee member John Stadtman, who suggested the name at Wednesday night’s committee meeting. “I want to preserve something that we are destroying. My first idea is to just take the plaque off and slap it over there. “

Committee vice-chair Shannon Demos suggested including “elementary” in the name to distinguish the school from the original central school. She also said she hoped the city could include other tributes to its history in the new building.

“I would like to see the library or the central office or sections of different parts of the building named in honor of some historical pieces,” Demos said, suggesting that some parts could be named after the current North Street elementary schools. and Trahan, which will be closed once the new school is built. “It can bring in the old and the new.”

Other name recommendations from the elementary school building committee included North Trahan Elementary School, after the two existing schools; Ann Sullivan or Helen Keller after historical education activists; Mico Kaufman, after the late Tewksbury resident and eminent sculptor; Foster School, after the city’s former Foster Elementary School; Wamesit Elementary, to recognize local Native American history; or Ryan Elementary, as the building will share a campus with John F. Ryan Middle School.

Some residents had also suggested naming the school Pleasant Street Elementary School, after the street it will sit on.

School committee member Bridget Garabedian suggested the school be named Shawsheen Center Elementary School, to recognize both the old school building and the Shawsheen River that runs through Tewksbury. While this name was put to a vote and was also supported by Demos, it was not adopted.

Demos, Stadtman, Garabedian and committee chairman Keith Sullivan all voted in favor of the new name. Committee member Nicholas Parsons abstained.

The Centre’s new primary school is expected to open at the end of 2022.

Source link

About Frank Torres


Check Also

The “professor” of fraud uses similarity of names in scientific articles

ANKARA After arriving on the country’s agenda with false documents showing her a professor, Zulal …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *