That’s all Cole Traugott at 81 Speedway

Cole Traugott (USMTS photo)

PARK CITY, Kan. – Cole Traugott nipped poleman Jacob Bleess at the pole to lead the first lap of the 40-lap main event Thursday night at 81 Speedway and stayed there for the next 39 circuits to claim his first career victory with the USMTS Summit National Championship powered by Casey’s.

The victory may come as a surprise to those outside the region, but for regular fans of the three-eighth-mile clay oval, it was no shock to see the leader of the modified track points of the l ‘USRA in the front.

Unlike his victory here five nights ago where he came from the 20eStarting point for securing his third win of the season on the track, Thursday’s end-to-end effort forced Traugott to push back the challenges of quadruple USMTS national champion Rodney Sanders, who put pressure on the winner from the start. ninth round.

After passing Lucas Schott for second on lap nine, Sanders stayed within striking distance of Traugott the rest of the way as more action unfolded behind the leading duo from start to finish.

The warnings in rounds 14, 29 and 36 gave a glimmer of hope to the other pursuers of Sanders and Traugott, but the 26-year-old never gave up and earned a salary of $ 10,000 for his efforts.

Joining Carlos Ahumada Jr., winner of American King Brooks Strength, AJ Diemel and Mod Wars winner Alex Williamson, Traugott is the fifth USMTS winner for the first time in the 2021 campaign – arguably the most difficult to date in the 23-year history of the series.

Behind Traugott and finalist Sanders, Tanner Mullens ascended the high line to third place while Dereck Ramirez came from 10th place to finish fourth while Schott held on for the top five.

Fifty-eight competitors took part in Thursday night’s program.

The end:

Cole Traugott, Rodney Sanders, Tanner Mullens, Dereck Ramirez, Lucas Schott, Jason Hughes, Dan Ebert, Tyler Wolff, Zack VanderBeek, Dustin Sorensen, Fito Gallardo, Landon Atkinson, Jake Gallardo, Jake O’Neil, Tyler Davis, Carlos Ahumada Jr ., Jacob Bleess, Lance Mari, Cody Schniepp, Brandon Givens, Darron Fuqua, Bryce Schniepp, Terry Phillips, Joe Duvall, Jesse Stovall, Brooks Strength, Jake Nightingale, Mike Hansen

About Frank Torres

Check Also

Chelsea set to appoint Red Bull Salzburg’s Christoph Freund as sporting director – Paper Talk | Transfer Center News

All the headline stories and transfer rumors from Monday’s national papers… THE GUARDIAN Chelsea agree …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.