Yankees name Anthony Volpe and Hayden Wesneski winners of 2021 Kevin Lawn Awards

The New York Yankees announced today that shortstop Anthony Volpe and right-handed pitcher Hayden Wesneski were named winners of the 2021 Kevin Lawn Awards as the Yankees’ Minor League “Position Player of the Year” and “Pitcher of the Year,” respectively.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O’Brien Lawn, the son of longtime Yankees vice president and chief operating officer Jack Lawn, who died in 1999.

volpe, 20, batted .294/.423/.604 (121-for-412) with 113R, 35 doubles, 6 triples, 27HR, 86RBI, 78BB and 33SB in 109 combined games with Low-A Tampa and High-A Hudson Valley in 2021. He was named a MiLB.com Organization All-Star last season after leading the Minors in runs scored and ranking third in extra-base hits (68). Volpe also led all Yankees minor leaguers in on-base percentage, slugging percentage, OPS (1.027), doubles and walks, tied for first in total bases (249), ranked second in RBI, third in home runs and fourth in batting average and stolen bases. In 2022, it is ranked by Baseball America as the No. 1 Yankees prospect and No. 10 overall prospect in all MLB organizations. In his previous two minor league seasons (2019, 21), he hit .275 (147 for 533) with 132R, 42 doubles, 8 trebles, 29HR, 97RBI and 101BB in 143 games. The right-handed hitter, a native of Watchung, NJ, was selected by the Yankees in the first round (30th overall) of the 2019 Freshman Players Draft, after attending Delbarton School in Morristown, NJ.

Wesnesky, 24, combined to go 11-6 with two complete games and a 3.25 ERA (130.1IP, 110H, 52R/47ER, 36BB, 151K, 13HR) in 25 games (24 starts) in 2021 with High- A Hudson Valley, Double-A Somerset and Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre. Last season, Wesneski was named a MiLB.com All-Star after leading all Yankees minor leaguers in wins, innings pitched and starts while ranking second in strikeouts, fourth for WHIP (1.12) and fifth for ERA. It enters the 2022 season tabulated by Baseball America as the club’s No. 6 prospect. The Houston, Texas native was selected by the Yankees in the sixth round of the 2019 Sam Houston State University Freshman Draft.

Each player will receive a trophy created by Brown’s Trophyes of St. Petersburg, as well as an engraved designer watch, courtesy of Betteridge Jewelers.


Year / Position Player of the Year / Pitcher of the Year

2021 / SS Anthony Volpe (TAM/HV) / RHP Hayden Wesneski (HV/SOM/SWB)

2020 / No winner (minor league season canceled due to COVID)

2019 / 1B Chris Gittens (TRE) / RHP Deivi Garcia (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2018 / INF Brandon Wagner (TAM/TRE) / RHP Michael King (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2017 / 3B Miguel Andújar (TRE/SWB) / RHP Domingo Acevedo (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2016 / OF Aaron Judge (SWB) / RHP Chance Adams (TAM/TRE)

2015 / C Gary Sanchez (TRE/SWB) / RHP Luis Severino (TRE/SWB)

2014 / INF Rob Refsnyder (TRE/SWB) / RHP Luis Severino (CHA/TAM/TRE)

2013 / 1B Greg Bird (CHA) / RHP Shane Greene (TAM/TRE)

2012 / DE Tyler Austin (GCL/CHA/TAM/TRE) / RHP Mark Montgomery (TAM/TRE)

2011 / C Austin Romine (TRE/SWB) / RHP DJ Mitchell (SWB)

2010 / SS Eduardo Nuñez (SWB) / RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)

2009 / C Austin Romine (TAM) / RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)

2008 / DE Brett Gardner (SWB) / LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)

2007 / OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB) / RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2006 / 1B Cody Ehlers (TAM) / RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)

2005 / DE Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE) / RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)

2004 / 1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE) / RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)

2003 / C Dioner Navarro (TAM / TRE) / RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)

2002 / 2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR) / LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM) & RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)

2001 / DE Juan Rivera (COL/NOR) & DE Marcus Thames (NOR) / LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)

2000 / 3B Scott Seabol (NOR) / LHP Randy Keisler (COL)

1999 / 2B D’Angelo Jimenez (COL) & 1B Nick Johnson (NOR) / LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)

1998 / 1B Nick Johnson (TAM) / RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)

1997 / 3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR) / LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)

1996 / DE Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR) / RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)

1995 / SS Derek Jeter (COL) / RHP Matt Drews (TAM)

1994 / SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL) / LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)

1993 / OF Billy Masse (COL) / LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)

1992 / 1B JT Snow (COL) / RHP Sam Militello (COL)

1991 / C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW) & SS Dave Silvestri (ALB) / RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL) & RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)

1990 / DE Hensley Meulens (COL) / RHP Dave Eiland (COL)

1989 / 1B Hal Morris (COL) / LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)

1988 / 1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB) / RHP Todd Malone (SAR)

1987 / DE Darren Reed (COL) / RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)

1986 / 3B Chris Alvarez (FTL) / RHP Logan Easley (ALB)

1985 / DE Dan Pasqua (COL) / RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)

1984 / C/OF Scott Bradley (COL) / LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)

1983 / DE Brian Dayett (COL) / RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/NSH)

1982 / DE Matt Winters (GBO/NSH) / RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)

1981 / 1B Don Mattingly (COL) / LHP Pete Filson (FTL/NSH)

1980 / 1B Steve Balboni (NSH) / RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)

About Frank Torres

Check Also

India now has eight cheetahs, but how many can you name?

Bhopal: Seven decades after its local extinction, India reintroduced eight cheetahs to its wilds on …